OU-Tulsa Wins 2016 Case Study Competition

ITERA is pleased to announce that The University of Oklahoma – Tulsa team of Mohamed Elgrew, Nishaal Parmar, Sandeep Sharma, Mitun Talukder, Satish Thomas and faculty sponsor Dr. Promode Verma were this year’s winners of ITERA’s Case Study competition.  The competition culminates several months of effort by student participants who were presented with a telecommunications case requiring them to integrate their technical knowledge and problem-solving expertise to craft a solution to meet a fictional municipality’s needs for securing a public park.  The two-part competition requires students to prepare a written response to the case.  The written responses are evaluated blindly by a set of industry and professional judges.  The best written response teams are then invited to present to a second panel of industry and professional judges.

The competition engages students in a months-long effort to solve a real-world telecommunications problem by applying their technical and problem-solving skills. During the final round of competition, they presented their case to a panel of judges representing companies such as Cisco, Facebook and Excelacom. JMU professor Harry Reif designed the 2015-2016 case, which centered around protecting a city park, and managed the competition.

“We want our students to develop professionalism, technical acumen and to be able to demonstrate those qualities in real-world scenarios–that’s invaluable for our students,” Reif says. “The case study competition reinforces these qualities. It’s like the frosting on the cake. They learn these things in class and then have the opportunity to demonstrate them in front of industry experts. That makes them competitive in the job market.”

Other finalists in this year’s competition were:

  • James Madison University – faculty sponsor Dr. Harry Reif
    • Andrew Adams, Greg Barton,  Anthony Jewett, Tyler Mamrot
  • University of Pittsburgh – faculty sponsor Dr. David Tipper
    • Artan Salihu, Akul Kapoor, Anoop Kulkarni, Chinmay Sane, Jamie Gambetta
  • Murray State University – faculty sponsor Dr. James Gantt
    • Kevin Barrow, Laura Castleberry, Justin Davidson, Jerry Puffenbarger, Chris Royse

ITERA thanks the following companies and individuals that volunteered their time to be judges for the competition:
Jack Hall – Florida LamdaRail
Dan Reif – Facebook
John Hoag – Ohio University
Manoj Thomas – Virginia Commonwealth University
James Comfort – Exelacom Corporation
Russell Bacon – Cisco
Jennifer Corum – Louisville Metro Police Department
Mary Lou Kidder – Sauk Valley Community College

Special thanks to Facebook for providing prizes for this year’s winning team.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.